Language:

OEconomia

Cambridge Journals Online - CUP Full-Text Page
OEconomia (2012), 2012:15-33 NecPlus
Copyright © Nec Plus / Association OEconomia 2012
doi:10.4074/S2113520712011024

Research Article

General Equilibrium and Welfare in International Trade


John S. Chipmana1

a1 University of Minnesota - jchipman@umn.edu
Article author query
chipman js [Google Scholar]

Abstract

General equilibrium is investigated in the tradition of Cournot, Mill, and Marshall, as applied to countries rather than individuals, on the assumption that individual preferences can be aggregated. This includes the competitive equilibrium of free trade, as well as of restricted trade resulting from tariffs, analyzed by Marshall as well as by Johnson. Johnson’s theory of tariff wars is analyzed as an example of Cournot’s theory of duopoly, leading to a Nash equilibrium in contrast to the competitive equilibrium of free trade. Finally, the effect of unstable equilibrium is discussed as presented in recent work by Wan and Zhou, suggesting a new concept of negotiated equilibrium.

Résumé

Suivant la tradition de Cournot, Mill et Marshall, on étudie un modèle d’équilibre général s’appliquant à des pays et non à des individus, sous l’hypothèse que les préférences individuelles peuvent être agrégées. Ce modèle couvre à la fois le cas d’équilibre concurrentiel avec libre échange et le cas de commerce restreint par des droits de douanes, analysé par Marshall aussi bien que par Johnson. La théorie de la guerre des droits de douane de Johnson est analysée comme un exemple de théorie du duopole de Cournot, conduisant à un équilibre de Nash par opposition à l’équilibre concurrentiel de libre échange. Pour terminer, on discute le cas d’un équilibre instable, tel que Wan et Zhou l’ont présenté récemment, suggérant ainsi un nouveau concept d’équilibre négocié.

Keywordsinternational trade; tariffs; tariff wars; multiple equilibria; negotiated equilibrium

Mots clés :commerce international; droits de douane; guerre tarifaire; équilibres multiples; équilibre négocié

JEL:B2; F11

Footnotes

The paper has benefited from the comments of two referees.


Related Content